The Busy Bird

"I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us." Romans 8:18

Who loves food & crafts!? … I DO!

Leave a comment

Okay… today I’m going to write on something a little different. No faith post today. Just a post of a recipe and two crafts! Even still, I hope you enjoy!

 -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

So this past Friday, my family was craving strombolis. I personally don’t like them but what my boys want to eat, I make — haha! Anyway, I thought I would share my recipe in case you are looking for something different to make for dinner. Now, I made my strombolis a little different than the traditional sandwich way. Instead, I made mine almost like a spaghetti bread (check out this site for that delicious recipe).

Here’s what you will need:
2 – 16oz rolls of pork sausage
1 roll of thawed Rhode’s bread dough
1 – 16oz jar of Prego Marinara
1 small pkg of pepperoni
1 – 2 cup package of shredded mozzarella cheese
2 Tbsp of Italian seasoning (will use as 2 – 1 Tbsp portions)
cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 350°.

First, beginning by browning your sausage and adding one tablespoon of the Italian seasoning. After the meat is browned, drain off the grease.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

While you are browning the meat, roll out your thawed dough into a large rectangle shape. Use flour to prevent the dough from sticking to the surface. Another great trick is to roll the dough out on wax paper and flour.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

After you’ve rolled the dough out, move it to a sprayed baking sheet. Take a knife (or I like to use a pizza cutter) to make one inch strips down each long side of the dough. See the picture below.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Since the dough is done, turn your attention back to the sausage. Stir in the marinara and the last tablespoon of Italian seasoning. Let the mixture simmer for a few minutes.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Once the meat has simmered, take a large spoon and begin spooning it onto the bread dough. Then lay as many pepperonis as you would like on top of the meat mixture.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, liberally sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top of the meats.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, begin to braid those dough strips over the filling. The strips may not always meet so feel free to stretch them as far as you need to or even kind of squish them together if need be. I sprinkled cheese atop the dough but I don’t think I would do that again. The cheese was burnt when it was all done cooking.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Place the pan in the oven for roughly 35-40 minutes. Check frequently to ensure no burning. After you remove it from the oven, feel free to cut it as soon as you want. There is no need to let it sit up or anything.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The Finished Product

The Finished Product

  -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

I also went Pinterest crazy this weekend too. I made a menu for our kitchen and also a dry erase calendar. I really enjoy doing simple, quick crafts — and both of these didn’t take too long.

First, I made the supper menu for our kitchen. Supper is a challenge every night in our house. The question is always, “What do you want?” with the response of, “I don’t care” or “Doesn’t matter to me”. So, I found this pin that is a board with an index card with a dinner and recipe on each. After I made the board, I made about 30-35 index cards of ideas for supper so we have a bit of variety. I didn’t write the recipe on each, but instead I just wrote some of the key ingredients on some of the more intensive dishes. Here is how mine turned out:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Like I said, I also made a neat dry erase calendar from a picture frame. All you need is a picture frame, some paint sample chips, and some sort of background paper/fabric. I used some scrapbook paper for mine. This is such a neat idea since it is reusable and also for when your plans change. This is how mine ended up:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA


-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Well, just thought I’d share something a little different with you today. Hope you enjoyed!! Happy cooking and crafting!

Leave a Reply

